E-Max troubleshooting

9 posts / 0 new
Last post
iconoclast
iconoclast's picture
E-Max troubleshooting

Hello all,

I recently purchased a Jan 2006 vintage E-Max Sport. After about 10 miles of good performance, I managed to break something by attempting a standing start up a grade while overloaded. I'm a reasonably good mechanic, but don't have much experience with AC motors and electronic controllers.

I have the shop manual, if it can be called that, it's abysmal. I'm interested in fixing my E-max, but I'm also interested in compiling or writing better troubleshooting documentation for other E-max users, as it's obviously needed. I'm also interested in some of the mods I've seen here, and willing to compile a single reference document for this info so it's a little more accessible.

Any tech help troubleshooting would be much appreciated, and shared with the E-Max community.

The symptoms:

Loud "knocking" sound from the hub motor on starting and cruising. Louder under high
load(starting underway).

In some positions (rolling back and forth), no motive power, just a "grinding" sound.

For both of the above symptoms, it feels a lot like a stripped gear tooth, although there
are of course no gears involved in the E-Max hub motor.

Fairly severe vibration when running under no load (up on center stand).

Reduced power (approx 1/2 - 2/3?).

The shop manual lists five possible causes for the symptom "The motor makes a loud noise":
Wheel bearing bad
Rotor grinds on cover
Loose magnet(s) in motor (manual calls this "alnico")
Motor cover is misaligned
Hall effect sensor defective

I pulled apart the motor, and am convinced that the problem is not due to any of the first four causes. I did find an old quality control sticker (!) riding around between the rotor and hub, but removing it didn't fix the problem.