What is reverse engineering?

11 posts / 0 new
Last post
Mik
Mik's picture
What is reverse engineering?

Please see forum: http://visforvoltage.org/forum/2977-open-letter-vectrix-corp
for the background leading up to this question.

Question:

Would it be "Reverse Engineering" if someone posted high resolution pictures taken of the electronic parts of products s/he owns to get online community help?

Would this be illegal?

Is "Reverse Engineering" always a term describing illegal activity?

Mr. Mik

astar
Re: What is reverse engineering?

I'm not a legal expert, but I did engineering for over 20 years, and hold several patents.

Would it be "Reverse Engineering" if someone posted high resolution pictures taken of the electronic parts of products s/he owns to get online community help?

Would this be illegal?

Yes it would be reverse engeering, or a step in that direction. No it would not be illegal.

Reverse engineering refers to going from a physical device and using that to generate a design. Obviously, in normal "forward" engineering, the design is created before the physical device. There is nothing illegal about doing reverse engineering. However, designs may be covered by patent rights, and you can't legally use a patented design during the patent period no matter how you came up with that design, including reverse engineering. You can however buy something that is covered by one or more patents and use it however you want to, including any modifications you wish to make.