Upgrading the EVT 168 to a motorcycle

15 posts / 0 new
Last post
gurkelur
Upgrading the EVT 168 to a motorcycle

Dear community,

I'm riding an EVT 168. This is my first electrical vehicle and I'm indeed fascinated by the subject. So much potensial, all this technology waiting to unleash itself, etc. But the scooter is weak. It's puny and slow in traffic. I need something that can keep up with squash pufflers and hateful, mental cab drivers.

Time for an enhancement :)

What I'd really like, is to make this flashy peace of plastic and battery acid able to reach 85 km/h, and to have it legally registered as a motorcycle. As I have no mechanical experience on motor cycles at all, I hope some of you can answer these questions: Will the scooter be safe to ride? Will the brakes be effective enough? Will the frame take the speed? I reckon it will be good for 65 km/h, since this is the ungoverned speed. Making it legal requires testing by the government, which could be hard to pass. Should I just anabandon the project right away?

If you share some of my hope, here is what I thought (now, I know very little about this subject, all guiding will be apreciated):

The 3kw 72V EVT hub motor
or the 6kw 72V hub motor from Kelly
and some lasting and light lithium batteries. For example a123. Next summer, lithium batteries will be pretty affordable :)

Any comments, ideas or suggestions? Is the 6kw motor suitable? What amperage on the batteries?

Thanks a lot in advance!

Regards
gurkelur

EVT 168 specs

EVT 168 specs

EVT 168 specs

EVT 168 specs

EVT 168 specs

EVT 168 specs

EVT 168 specs

reikiman
reikiman's picture
Re: Upgrading the EVT 168 to a motorcycle

85 km/h ...? That's 50+ miles/hr ... are you sure you want to do that on such a small vehicle frame? The fastest I've had my EVT4000 was 40 miles/hr and that was a bit exciting.