XM-4000Li; Shorted the batteries, what now??

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
zigalisr01
Offline
Last seen: 10 years 2 weeks ago
Joined: Thursday, September 16, 2010 - 14:47
Points: 59
XM-4000Li; Shorted the batteries, what now??

I was installing my new Cycle Analyst and decided to measure the voltage of each cell. I started disconnecting the individual cells when one of the copper straps slipped over and touched the other cell. On the XM-4000 if you think of the batteries as 4 strings, the 2 of the strings shorted. I was wondering if anybody had is ideas of what to expect next. Do I need to replace all 20 batteries or just the 8 that shorted together? Can the batteries be tested to tell which are bad? How hard is it to replace them or get new ones? The fun of a new toy, cycle-analyst has turned into sadness.

Johnny J
Johnny J's picture
Offline
Last seen: 10 months 2 weeks ago
Joined: Tuesday, July 8, 2008 - 17:02
Points: 377
Re: XM-4000Li; Shorted the batteries, what now??

If you only temporarily shortened them there is no problem at all, but if shortened for a longer time the cells would start to get very warm and deformed. If so they might need replacement.

marylandbob
Offline
Last seen: 3 years 9 months ago
Joined: Monday, June 22, 2009 - 12:24
Points: 524
Re: XM-4000Li; Shorted the batteries, what now??

If you promptly cleared the short, before the cells got hot, separately charging them to restore balance should be all that is needed. Next time, discharge the cells BEFORE working on them to minimize danger.--Bob

Robert M. Curry

zigalisr01
Offline
Last seen: 10 years 2 weeks ago
Joined: Thursday, September 16, 2010 - 14:47
Points: 59
Re: XM-4000Li; Shorted the batteries, what now??

I cleared the short as quickly as possible. The battery voltage seems OK. It is within range of the others. One of the copper straps is blacken and a little melted.

zigalisr01
Offline
Last seen: 10 years 2 weeks ago
Joined: Thursday, September 16, 2010 - 14:47
Points: 59
Re: XM-4000Li; Shorted the batteries, what now??

So, I started putting the copper straps back on and noticed they all have some kind of grease on them. How important is this grease and what is it? I expect something conductive and keeps the oil from peoples fingers out. If anyone has any ideas that would be great. Also, where could I get some.

ToyTank
Offline
Last seen: 11 years 5 months ago
Joined: Sunday, November 7, 2010 - 11:27
Points: 15
Re: XM-4000Li; Shorted the batteries, what now??

Hi. It is either conductive bonding agent, or no-ox.

If everything for your terminal/cable/lugs is nickel I would Just clean mating surfaces with a scour pad.

If you are using bare copper or any other metals could use no-ox to prevent corrosion. Conductive paste won't hurt, but I never use it professionally in large DC applications.

Unless you are bonding copper to steal other dissimilar metals, I would just scratch it up a little with a pad and call it good.

EDIT: If there is a "Gray Bar" in you area they will carry No-Ox/Conductive paste. If not try electrical supply chains. Maybe a Micro Center? Amazon if you don't mind having it shipped to you.

Second EDIT: You can check individual voltage without taking the straps off. Just place leads from + to - on the individual cell, It will give you the voltage of that cell, even if it is in a series or string.

zigalisr01
Offline
Last seen: 10 years 2 weeks ago
Joined: Thursday, September 16, 2010 - 14:47
Points: 59
Re: XM-4000Li; Shorted the batteries, what now??

Thunder-sky LFP60AHA - 4 cell pack-web.JPG

So, look at the gaps between the batteries. Before you start taking loosing the screws or remover the bus bars, stick something non-conductive in those gaps. I cut some cardboard and put in two of the gaps. That will prevent the bus bar from rotating over and shorting to the other battery. The connections in this picture are not how the battery is actual installed.

Log in or register to post comments


Who's online

There are currently 0 users online.

Who's new

  • leastk
  • aymgoa
  • wodnik7
  • Xaavier
  • rsementi

Support V is for Voltage