Pit bike project, dewalt battery packs v 18650 cells off ebay............

12 posts / 0 new
Last post
cajunjay
Pit bike project, dewalt battery packs v 18650 cells off ebay............

Im just about to strip my pit bike down and sell off the engine and exhaust on ebay to help raise funds for the Etek motor and a controller not yet chosen.

Now my main issue with this project was with batteries, the Dewalt packs seem a goot option for there ease of use and lightweight over lead acid, but im a complete newbie so dont understand what will be best for me.

Im loking at 30-45 mph and want a decent range maybe 20-30 miles if possible so i came across these cells on ebay that i think are basically the same as the ones in a dewalt pack but alot cheaper.

Ebay Cells

I have a few contacts in china that im pretty sure can get these cells for maybe $2 each so will i be able to buils up my own packs? What options would you guys suggest on batteries

Thanks

reikiman
reikiman's picture
Re: Pit bike project, dewalt battery packs v 18650 cells off eba

For the DeWalt packs.. you want to avoid using the built-in BMS during discharge because at the high currents you no doubt would be using in a ETEK driven bike you'll blow the BMS. It's easy enough to use the existing Dewalt pack structure, open the case of the pack and solder cables to the positive/negative terminals to the pack, bring them out, and parallel/serial connect them to form a pack. It's simple to also leave the BMS in place and you can use DeWalt's charger to charge the individual packs. You would charge one pack at a time or else have multiple chargers.

Where it starts being complicated is if you want a more convenient charging method... What I'm working on right now is how to charge them all at once. That's the Blinking DeWalt Charger thread.. I'll be posting my wiring method soon.