Need help on a motorcycle project

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
kamikazee
Need help on a motorcycle project

Hi everyone, I am completely new to this forum, and also to electric vehicules.
I just turned 18 and I will soon be in need of a ride, but I don't want to use gas engines...so I decided to build my own electric motorcycle!

(NOTE: I do not want a scooter and I am not a fan of chopper style bikes)

Alright...I gotta tell you something right away: I am not experienced in mechanics and electric stuff. I WILL get more informations about all that, but this forum looks full of helpful persons and I'd rather have human answers than technical stuff about motors and stuff in books.

My motorcycle would have a max speed of 100kph(62mph), the range would be between 50 and 80km (30-50miles) and would cost me between 1000-3000$ to build. I would also have to include the motorcycle chassis in the price.
My cousin works in a garage and my uncle is a weilder, so I won't have to pay anyone during any part of the construction.

I did some quick researches around the net, and found these components:

motor: 48V Etek motor
controller: Alltrax AXE 36-48V 300amp

I've read these motors are quite powerful and I found some custom-made motorcyle built using Etek motors, so I thought I'd do the same.

My questions are the following:
- Is it a good idea to use the motor/controller mentioned above?
- What kind of battery would I need, and how many of them?
- Important details I must know?
- Is my project even realistic?

In hope of receiving responses ASAP!

chas_stevenson
chas_stevenson's picture
Re: Need help on a motorcycle project

kamikazee,

Welcome to V is for Voltage, we do have several members who can help you with your project. I believe your project is very realistic with one exception, cost. To build what you want will require some very high dollar batteries, Lithium Ion, to get the range and speed you want. I think you should know you cost estimates are very low.