Hub motors - front vs. rear mount

9 posts / 0 new
Last post
Bander
Hub motors - front vs. rear mount

I'm new to ebikes but want to get started on one soon. I have a 14 mile commute that I am already doing part of by bike. I would like to do it all by bike but want to try an ebike so I can get it done faster than I can by pedaling alone.

Could someone give me a brief rundown on the pros/cons of front vs. rear mounting hub motors? From what I have read on the boards, torque rotating the axle can be a problem in the front fork, is this also a concern when mounted in rear?

Thanks

davew
davew's picture
Re: Hub motors - front vs. rear mount

Excessive torque is only a problem for very large motors or for medium motors combined with aluminum forks and/or front shocks. Whether you need to be worried about it depends on the motor/battery combination you pick. There are larger issues when choosing between a front and a rear hub motor, however. I would first decide on the system you want and then deal with torque as a question of installation.

Front hub motors are easier to combine with trailers. They give you more choices for the trailer mounting attachment. Front hub motors are also good for snowy and icy weather for all the same reasons that all-wheel drive cars are better on slick roads. Rear hub motors don't have any particular advantages that I can think of, but they are far more common. Kits like my favorite the Bionx only come as a rear hub motor.

"we must be the change we wish to see in the world"

Bander

Thanks Dave. I was thinking of going with one of the conversion kits from electricrider.com based on the Crystalite hubs. The BionX systems look really nice, but are priced kinda steep too.