Electric Bobber

4 posts / 0 new
Last post
dreamdrum
Electric Bobber

I'm a newbie, so I'd like some expert input...

As a 'thought experiment' in electric motorcycles, would it be feasible / advisable* to marry a Kikker 5150 rolling chasis (a small classic bobber kit) with an electric power system (e.g. as specified in the BugE kit)?
http://myhardknock.com/?page_id=8&category=14&product_id=44
http://www.blueskydsn.com/BugE_Power_kit.html

*Apart from the usual registration and insurance issues, given the similar vehicle weights can one judge if the bike frame can hold 4 batteries specified in the BugE? I liked the look of the bike and was thinking about pre-configured systems, since I lack the knowledge to design a power system from scratch.

Thanks,
Gary

I guess this idea is a scale up from my IZip Chopper ebike, which is lacking in the suspension (comfort) and speed (18mph) departments. I graduated to riding in traffic with a small motorcycle to avoid repeating a close call I had on the IZip in a narrow shoulder aside a truck. The idea of electric transportation continues to fascinate.

reikiman
reikiman's picture
Re: Electric Bobber

Yeah, looks like a cool thing. I've often thought that there are lots of companies making motorcycle frame kits and those could be a basis for an EV conversion. Those bikes in particular look like a more affordable price than I've seen.

jdh2550_1
jdh2550_1's picture

Hi,

I think this would make an absolutely fantastic rolling chassis for what you want. It looks like a great price as well. The Bug-E kit should work - you might also consider similar kits from electricmotorsport.com if you want to go with a "pancake" motor (such as the new Etek-RT) or an AC or Sep-Ex motor that they also offer.