Charging timer

24 posts / 0 new
Last post
undead
Charging timer

Is it safe to use a standard on/off timer switch on the mains plug when charging a vectrix?

My knowledge on electrics is not that good these days!

I know they state on all timing plugs never to use electric heaters or lights through them.

After reading through the posts (especially Mr Mik - now that guy is in depth! :) ), it would seem wise to cap the charge time at 4 hours. As I will be generally plugging it in the garage just before I go to bed, I would rather it shut off automatically rather than waste electricity acting as a small heater hehe...

Your thoughts?

rontivo
Re: Charging timer

I'm still a newbie (I've had my bike less than a week now), but it seems to me that my bike does turn off after it's fully charged. I haven't gone so far as to hook up a meter to verify that it isn't drawing any power, but I wonder if they've fixed the problem with the Vectrix continuing to draw power after a full charge as part of the recall to fix problems with the batteries. Hopefully someone with more experience with the bike than I have can add their thoughts on this.

DaveD
DaveD's picture

I've got a whole-house electric power consumption monitor, and it's reporting a 60W consumption of my Vectrix when it's sitting idle after completing a charging cycle (I pull the Vectrix's plug and the monitor drops by 60W).

Mr. Mik, who is the most prolific poster of this Vectrix forum uses a timer to limit the total consumption of his Vectrix. I've got one of these timers on order, http://www.smarthome.com/2046.html, which seems to have the load capacity and features (including a countdown timer) that I think will work well for my needs. I'll report back how it works once I've received it and tried it out. I've also ordered one of the Kill-A-Watt EZ units (http://www.smarthome.com/9034ez.html) to allow me to monitor the Vectrix's power consumption more easily and accurately.

knabo
knabo's picture