want to be more green

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
stockdoct
want to be more green

I have NO electrical experience and can't tell a watt from a volt. But I do ride an electric scooter (E-Max 2006) and would like to make my household electricity usage more green.

Is there a solar panel out there,( VERY user friendly), that connects to a battery I could use to charge my scooter, my iPods, my cellphones etc? Cost is ot an object, I'm really just wanting to make a small amount of my energy usage "off-grid". What do you think?

vinnie
Re: want to be more green

Yes, there is...I am sure others will chime in but I can tell you I have seen expensive ones and cheap ones including some from this often cited online store and several very cheap ones I saw made by Coleman at Walmart the other day (please note this was the second time I have ever walked into a Walmart, hated both times and don't plan to ever return...just for those of you keeping score).

If you do get one, be sure to post your findings so we can all benefit!

Cheers!

Vinnie
Broomfield, CO

LinkOfHyrule
LinkOfHyrule's picture

Wal-Mart rules. Whatchoo talkin' bout, Basile? :P

Anyway, yeah. I've seen some pretty basic ones from Fry's and the like. I don't know how user friendly they are, though; I'm not really into solar panels other than for the novelty factor. They're just so expensive for the amount of power they put out. The one I saw at fries was a mere 15W (12V 1.25A) and cost like $150. :/

The author of this post isn't responsible for any injury, disability or dismemberment, death, financial loss, illness, addiction, hereditary disease, or any other undesirable consequence or general misfortune resulting from use of the "information" contai

stockdoct

This is kind of what I had in mind, but I wondered what else was out there
Sunforce 50044 60-Watt Solar Charging Kit

dogman
dogman's picture