can I / should run 36V or 48V through a 24V Henzmann???

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
VishnuTensleep
VishnuTensleep's picture
Offline
Last seen: 12 years 4 months ago
Joined: Sunday, June 15, 2008 - 11:47
Points: 8
can I / should run 36V or 48V through a 24V Henzmann???

I have a virtually new-condition Iacocca E-Bike with a 24V Heinzmann hub motor - my first foray into ebikeuniverse. It's very cute but is totally underpowered from a utilitarian standpoint, and furthermore it's slow as the dickens - after about 12 mph the motor can't contibute anything and it's just me pedaling a 67lb bike. Since more V = more motor speed (I think) I had the notion of simply adding two more 12V batteries to give me 48V. I believe I'd need another controller (and maybe some other parts - I'm new to this) but I'm ultimately going to build a real bike so figure I could just transfer the controller etc to the future machine.

Is this idea misguided, stupid, a waste of time? Any and all comments appreciated...

bob in phx
Offline
Last seen: 12 years 10 months ago
Joined: Sunday, July 6, 2008 - 12:28
Points: 1
Re: can I / should run 36V or 48V through a 24V Henzmann???

I too have an Ebike. I actually have two. It was a package deal with a good bike and a parts bike. So, I sort of have a test mule. From what I have read, it is possible to run the 24v 400 watt Heinzemann motor at 36volts, through the stock Ebike controller. I have also read that you can expect a controller failure within a year. There does not appear to be much information about the Ebike controller, no schematics etc and the parts inside have a lot of house numbers, so finding replacements is not easy. After repairing the parts bike heinzemann motor, I took the cheap route and got a replacement cheap 24 volt scooter controller, with a new twist grip. It runs about the same speed as the good bike. Note that the heinzemann motor has a temp sensor in the hub, in order to cut off the motor should it overheat. My new controller does not have any provision for this option. While I was in the parts bike motor, I took note of the sensor part number (2mmt145) I can not find out what type of sensor it is, but from the wiring diagram in the factory service manual, I think its nothing but a thermal switch. I am working on a simple circuit to add a small relay to shut down the power to the motor, but I am a little worried about to much amperage though the temp switch.

So, bottom line is that I think you can run 36volts for awhile. I do know that you can swap controllers, so you might want to try a cheap 36 volt controller, but watch the motor temp........

bob in phx.

p.s. I might also suggest a re-greasing of the internal hub gears. It made a fair amount of difference in the sound of the motor...

Ian
Offline
Last seen: 10 years 4 months ago
Joined: Saturday, July 21, 2007 - 05:24
Points: 77
Re: can I / should run 36V or 48V through a 24V Henzmann???

i have the same one and thought the same thing. i ran at 24v for a year. then i ran at 36v for a year with the stock electrics and antoher 12v sla on the back, then i switched to 36vnimh, and then when the controller fried I stripped it all out and went to 46v 13ah nimh with a crystalyte brush controller. the 24v runs real sweet at 46v - but I would recommend a watts up or equivalent so you can keep an eye on the watts you are running through it. ie the 24v is very strong and well made, and it will take momentary peak of up to 1000 watts and run for a fair while continuous 400 to 500 watts , but you do have to keep an eye on things and don't abuse, or else you will meltdown with overheating.

defintely worth doing - I have a blast on mine. get out of sla's asap i would

VishnuTensleep
VishnuTensleep's picture
Offline
Last seen: 12 years 4 months ago
Joined: Sunday, June 15, 2008 - 11:47
Points: 8
Re: can I / should run 36V or 48V through a 24V Henzmann???

Thanks Ian! Question 1 - at 36V how much did your top speed improve on the flats? I don't mind pedaling but this thing is a loser compared to my human-powered road bike on the flats. Question 2 - why did you use a brush motor controller? Isn't the Heinzmann brushless? I don't know doodly about these things except what I've picked up from this site and endless sphere in the last month. Any help appreciated!

Ian
Offline
Last seen: 10 years 4 months ago
Joined: Saturday, July 21, 2007 - 05:24
Points: 77
Re: can I / should run 36V or 48V through a 24V Henzmann???

it improved very noticably, so potentially top speed around 18/20mph - but that is not cruising top speed, which is depending on how good your batteries are. ie if you had good batts with little voltage sag that can provide 500 watt continuous. I upped again to 46v mostly to make it a serious competition for roadies, as you mention. for short periods of higher top speed it can go close to 25mph now and will hold crusing at 15 to 18mph most of the time. the heinzman is a brush motor so you need a brush controller. I bought mine from poweride store and I received good customer service there - but brush controllers are easy to get. its never gonna be a barnstormer that 24v motor but it aint too bad either.

gmouchawar
Offline
Last seen: 2 years 3 weeks ago
Joined: Saturday, February 9, 2008 - 14:20
Points: 63
Re: can I / should run 36V or 48V through a 24V Henzmann???

Bob,

The thermal sensor in the Heinzmann motor is just a normally close switch that opens at high temperatures.
Some controllers have a key switch. I wired the key switch to the thermal sensor. If the hub motor overheats,
it will open the key switch and cut the power.
Of course this will happen when least desired in the middle of a hill, but it is better for me than frying the motor wires.

Welday007
Offline
Last seen: 11 years 7 months ago
Joined: Tuesday, September 29, 2009 - 18:53
Points: 2
Re: can I / should run 36V or 48V through a 24V Henzmann???

Ian,

I too just bought a 24V ebike that tops out at 13mph which is fine on the sidewalks but seems to crawl in the bike lane next to traffic. I would like to try adding a 12V 12Ah battery to the stock pair but I would like to know how you wired it and handled charging the three cells. Do you think wiring a switch to add the third cell only when needed would save the controller? But then I wonder about the difference in the charges.

Kevin

Log in or register to post comments


Who's online

There are currently 0 users online.

Who's new

  • freedomev
  • dpeilow
  • benthuis
  • Lenis Hvin
  • smith77

Support V is for Voltage