Recommendation request: Towing application

4 posts / 0 new
Last post
Slow1
Recommendation request: Towing application

Hello - newbie here (gasp! another one...)

I've been reading quite a few posts and getting familiar with things here, but haven't seen much on this topic so I am hoping someone who has been around perhaps can either answer this or point me to older posts where it has been discussed...

I'm looking to add a motor to my bicycle or perhaps get a bicycle and put a motor on it (not sure what I'll have to do there) that will then be used to tow a trailer with a child in it. Application is to drive this rig approx 11 miles with child in the trailer, drop off at school, then drive another 11 miles to work. I actually can do this pull now w/o power but am recovering from a leg injury and won't be able to do it this fall, thus here I am.

I have an older road bike (27" slick tires) all steel frame that I have been using to pull. When it is just my older daughter I will only be pulling about 40lbs. My own weight is around 160. So, from my reading it seems that this is within the range of what many of the WE hubs can handle - given that some posters have discussed their 300+lb frames being pulled along.

So here are my questions:

1) Front vs Rear wheel drive - I am drawn to the simplicity of front wheel installation, but wonder if perhaps towing may make the front a bit to light on the tread (?) and thus prone to slipping. Has anyone towed and experienced this?

2) Wheel size - I see 700c 26in... sold, but no 27" - hmmm... if I'm towning maybe I need a new bike with a smaller tire for more torque? I need to maintain average speed close to 20mph to keep on schedule so I don't want to go too small on the wheel.