Vectrix "BMS" improvements

13 posts / 0 new
Last post
Mik
Mik's picture
Vectrix "BMS" improvements

For the electrical engineers here: Do you think this might work?

The diagram shows the planned arrangement of the Vectux cells when reconditioning has finished.

Photobucket
High resolution PDF file here.

The design might contain beginners errors, like really nasty design faults that break stuff or make it unsafe.

I am still a beginner with electronics design and would appreciate it very much if the more experienced forum members could have a good look at the diagram and let me know if this could work.

In particular I would like to know if anyone can see a way for any potentially lethal currents to make it out of the battery safety container. I hope that I have placed 150kOhm resistors in all the right places, but it is a bit complex!

I hope I have included enough labels etc. to make it self-explanatory.

The general aims I hope to achieve with the design are:

1) The red (=low capacity) cells are all located adjacent to each other so I can charge them via the on-board switch-mode power supply, using the "surplus" charge in the good cells, and they can also be discharged if needed and re-conditioned without taking anything apart. The maximum voltage leaving the safety container through the 10A rated cables (to the boot under the seat) would be 13x1.5V=19.5V. (The single red cell in the top left corner shows no swelling and has recovered very well with reconditioning, but it can be individually monitored by the BMS to detect it early in case it deteriorates again).

2) The good cells can all be voltage monitored in Modules of 8 or 9 cells, during both riding and charging. No lethal current should be able to escape due to the 150kOhm resistors.