Noob here I need ideas? (ev sportbiker wanabe warning)

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
TomNY
Noob here I need ideas? (ev sportbiker wanabe warning)

Hello everyone,

I don't know how to collect my thoughts? But I need help I would like to convert a sport bike like a Yamaha fJ1100, R6 or cbr? But I kind of don't care about range? (15m with a fast charger would be cool?) I care about more of the performance of it? I don't have a clue about what to use for motor battery combo? I am thinking of a >72 volt version of the "Amplux High performance electric motorcycle" Any info you guys have I'm all ears. Anybody here a amp sucking pavment ripping corner vultures like my self? I have searched evalbum but I don't really have any data to benchmark ideas from?? Thanks in advance -Tom

antiscab
Re: Noob here I need ideas? (ev sportbiker wanabe warning)

GDay Tom,

for big performance, expect to pay big $$.
in a sports bike, ur fairly limited as far as adding weight goes.
so that means light weight motors, expensive high rate lithiums and so on.

I was once considering using a azure AC24LS motor and DMOC445 controller for 70kw@8000rpm, but that would weigh 55kg, leaving maybe 40kg for batteries.
if using LifeBatts that would get maybe 10AH 288v, max power 120A*240v=29kw.

so had to scrap that idea.
basically need to find a motor and controller combination that makes 40kw+ and weighs less than 30kg.

Matt

Daily Ride:
2007 Vectrix, modified with 42 x Thundersky 60Ah in July 2010. Done 194'000km

TomNY

Matt,
Thank you for your reply, I guess its safe to assume that lithium is the only way to go? On you tube
I found todd kollins's lightning lithium r1 conversiton 100mph top speed and 50mile range(?) I'll keep searching and learning -tom

antiscab

Gday Tom,

yes lithium is the only way to go, and not just any lithium, the high power lithium such as lifebatt a123 or any other high power variety.

high top speed (100mph?) doesnt need a huge amount of power (40-50kw?).