Newb here! Cheaper to build wheel or buy a kit!?

3 posts / 0 new
Last post
bikefreakvinnie
Newb here! Cheaper to build wheel or buy a kit!?

Hi All,
sorry i'm a newbie! i would appreciate any advice from the more experienced folks on whether i'd save much on building my own front wheel with hub motor (am able to build bike wheels etc) and gather up the rest of the bits, or if i'd be better off to just get a full kit!? Is there a kit with just the hub and everything else for much less!..
Thanking you, great exciting forum it is here!..
Vinnie

reikiman
reikiman's picture
Re: Newb here! Cheaper to build wheel or buy a kit!?

I don't know of a readily available hub motor where you get just the hub part and not already mounted in a wheel. Well there may be, I recall some time ago at crystalyte's home page being able to order just the hub motor not already mounted.

In any case .. not knowing how to build wheels on my own I think it's easier to just buy the kit. FWIW I read up how to do that in Zinn's book on mountain bike maintenance. It looks like one of those seemingly simple things that may be daunting in practice. I'm sure there's some possible advantage to building the wheel yourself such as being able to use the best spokes or whatnot.

dogman
dogman's picture
Re: Newb here! Cheaper to build wheel or buy a kit!?

A vendor on ebay sells just the motor, for bmc gearmotors. Several crystalyte vendors sell just the motor too.
Ebikes-ca is the best vendor for chrystalyte, but only the 404 is sold without a rim. They may allow you to buy other motors if you call them. Electric rider sells the motor without a rim. Another gearmotor seller is Holmes Hobbies where you can get bafang hubs.