Bypass BMS with LifePo4 - good idea or not ?

9 posts / 0 new
Last post
smarmstrong
Bypass BMS with LifePo4 - good idea or not ?

Hi,

I have an e-bike with 500w geared motor powered by 24v 20ah Lifepo4, I'm new to this and only recently got the kit together. I have a problem with the battery cutting out under small load, works fine when on a stand but as soon as I put any load onto it, it cuts out and I have to disconnect and reconnect to get power but then the same things happen again.

It seems it could be the BMS that's at fault, If I bypassed the BMS to see if that cures the problem I would then be able to confirm this, is this safe to do ? If it works can I run the bike like this ?

I'm thinking leave the BMS on for charging but for discharge go straight to motor, maybe with a 30amp fuse between.

antiscab
Re: Bypass BMS with LifePo4 - good idea or not ?

what you plan to do is exactly what i did with two 12v 20Ah Yesa batteries (now 17'500km later).

the only consequence of bypassing the BMS on discharge will be not knowing when to stop discharge if a single cell runs out of charge significantly before the rest of the cells.
since you are still balancing on every charge this shouldnt be a problem (unless that one cell has failed, in which case even a working BMS couldnt have helped it).

the other thing a BMS does is prevent to rapid a discharge. so add a fuse that is rated slightly above your maximum current draw.
Do this, and you shouldnt have any problems.

Matt

Daily Ride:
2007 Vectrix, modified with 42 x Thundersky 60Ah in July 2010. Done 194'000km

smarmstrong

Thanks for that i'll give it a go and post how I get on.

antiscab

i might also add, you need a decent AH counter to let you know how charged the battery is.

you can still ruin a perfectly balanced battery by over-discharge, when theres no BMS to stop you.

fortunately everytime ive overdischarged a cell, it has charged up fine. but one of these days, someone is going to kill one.

Matt