New conversion project:: 87 Honda Elite 80

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
Slamzee
New conversion project:: 87 Honda Elite 80

Hello everyone - I'm new to all this, but I wanted to get some advice and share the details of my spring project. I have a 1987 Honda Elite Scooter, that I have decided to convert to EV for running around town.

I just order a Mars ME-0708 Motor, Kelly 300A Controller package from Cloud Electric, and started pulling the old motor out. Is this a good combination to start?

Next choices are batteries, and how to drive the rear wheel. It appears the engine and transmission are combined in this scooter, I think like Vespas from what I have read here.

Any ideas if it is better to split the engine/transmission and try to isolate and reuse the transmission half, or just go with a new transfer system, like chain and sprocket?

On the batteries, I read a lot of good reviews on the LiFePo4 batteries. Will a pack rated at 51.2V 10.4Ah (532Wh, 60A rate ) work for me? Or should I just go with SLA batteries?

Thanks in advance for any support, suggestions, or comments!

-Scott

reikiman
reikiman's picture
Re: New conversion project:: 87 Honda Elite 80

It appears you emailed me privately and I didn't respond. Sorry... Welcome to the site! I would have recommended you bring your questions to the public anyway.

I haven't finished my honda elite conversion -- too many projects lined up. However mine started out pre-converted and I'm just redoing the conversion, if I ever get done with the other projects.

The Elite is a small bike so I suspect that motor and controller will be fine. More than fine, it ought to be really fast.