Help building automatic door opener

3 posts / 0 new
Last post
mitch98
Help building automatic door opener

Hi,

I am very new to building electrical components but I am trying to get a simple design and then build a light sensitive door opener for my chicken coop.

It would need to run off a small battery. It would only need to lift or push a door weighing no more than 100g. It would either need to be operated by light sensitive switch or a timer. It would all need to be housed in a waterproof housing.

Can anyone out there help me with this.

Many thanks
Mitch

garygid
Re: Help building automatic door opener

If a door is hinged at the top, and not "latched" shut, will the chickens be able to push it up enough to go in and out?

If so, a little "unlatch" solenoid could be held activated by a small solar panel?

Or, a solar panel could charge a battery (or not) and a small light detector could trigger a double-acting (+pulse on, -pulse off) unlatching and latching solenoid.

Or, the light detector could be cinnected to "run" a small motor to wind up a string to raise the door enough to trip a "door-fully-open" switch. With the switch closed, the lack of "light" could run the motor the other way, until a "door-closed" switch is activated.

But, you would need to arrange the "closed" condition to be held closed, so the fox cannot get in (unless he has a light).

Activation on dark, stormy days ... maybe use a timer instead?

What if a chicken is left trapped outside? Fox food?

Cheers, Gary
XM-5000Li, wired for cell voltage measuring and logging.

Rans
Re: Help building automatic door opener