Vectrix motor: Alternate uses

15 posts / 0 new
Last post
marcopolo
Vectrix motor: Alternate uses

I am staring sadly at dead V1, and was thinking about the various excellent technical debates I have read on this forum.

Now my background is not engineering, so please excuse me if this sounds naive, but could the Vectrix motor be modified to construct a different type of EV? Could you for instance, put two (or 4) V1 motors to drive the rear (all) wheels of small pick-up, beach buggy or farm vehicle? Would it work? The rating on the motor certainly seems adequately powerful, and doesn't seem to hard to modify the electrics etc..

I am hoping to pick the the encyclopedic knowledge of guy's like Mik. (I reckon given a little time, he could build a Mars probe from Vectrix components!)

Am I being really unrealistic or could it be done?

MikeB
Re: Vectrix motor: Alternate uses

I think it would work, but be under-powered if you used just 2. If you were content with low speeds, that's probably fine.

My electric vehicle: CuMoCo C130 scooter.

DaveAK

What are the ratings on the motor? Am I correct in thinking it's not a hub motor? I'm contemplating an EV motorbike build and haven't decided on a motor yet. If it's a good candidate then you could consider a bike build, unless you're specifically interested in more than two wheels.

I know next to nothing about the VX-1 so I'm not even sure if it's an AC or DC motor and if it could be controlled by an off the shelf controller.

Mik
Mik's picture

I am hoping to pick the the encyclopedic knowledge of guy's like Mik. (I reckon given a little time, he could build a Mars probe from Vectrix components!)

Time will be no problem once I finished work on my "Elixir of Life" project! HAHA!