New Build, New Builder...Ninja Conversion Begins

10 posts / 0 new
Last post
hppyfngy
hppyfngy's picture
New Build, New Builder...Ninja Conversion Begins

Hi, New Guy here.

I'm starting a conversion of this Ninja 250

As my first build, I am concerned with $$$. I will spend what's necessary but I don't want to go overboard.

I only need 30-40mph, and a very limited range of 5-10 miles. I am a pretty good mechanic with some welding experience, but little knowledge of what makes an EV go. This is my first project although I recently reworked my 1973 Auranthetic. Enjoy:

A friend has recommended this kit from electricmotorsport.com

EMC-R 48 Volt Motor Drive Kit

Includes: E-tek-R Motor, Alltrax AXE 4834, Magura Twist grip throttle, Contactor, Wire kit, Fuse and holder.

Price...........$980

Is this a reasonable place to start? Could I bodge together something less expensive?

I also need input on choice of batteries. I am thinking about going 48V.

Thanks,
Randy

reikiman
reikiman's picture
Re: New Build, New Builder...Ninja Conversion Begins

Yes that's a good start (the kit from electric motor sport). I have no idea if you could get something for less however as a first time builder maybe (voice of experience) it will be more straight forward to get a complete kit rather than hunt down all the parts yourself. Maybe for your second build you'll do something more experimental. (wink)

marylandbob

If you use the ETEK motor, you may want to consider using 72 volts, for higher speed/power. See if your proposed controller will survive operation at 72 volts-up to 400 amps can be demanded by the ETEK at this voltage, under acceleration/hillclimbing! If space/money permits, consider lithium batteries, as they generate less heat, and are lighter than Lead-Acid. (40 to 60 ampere-hour LiFePO4 batteries look promising) I have an old HONDA 250 interceptor, but have not decided what I will do with it yet!--Good luck,---Bob Curry.

Robert M. Curry

hppyfngy
hppyfngy's picture