Kelly KD72301 controller help.

10 posts / 0 new
Last post
Team Tersus
Kelly KD72301 controller help.
AttachmentSize
Image icon Kelly Wiring.JPG10.57 KB

Hi,

I am a student for the University of Houston, College of Technology. My team is currently building an electric motorcycle prototype using a Etek-rt motor, 5, 12v 100ah batteries, and a KD72301 controller capable of 72v and max current of 300amps (120 cont.). I have made a simplified wiring diagram from the kelly user manual. After wiring and double checking all connections, I attached a 24v power source. (12v, 7ah batteries). Nothing happened. I did not connect the motor, however. Does this make a difference or could it possibly be the power supply? Also should i use the contactor when testing at a lower voltage than its rated?

Kelly Wiring.JPG

Here is a basic diagram i drew up in Autocad. Its hard to see on the pic so i have attached a better pic.

Any help is appreciated, I will post pics of the project later this week.

Thanks
Team Tersus

hguido1
Re: Kelly KD72301 controller help.

Hi,

I am a student for the University of Houston, College of Technology. My team is currently building an electric motorcycle prototype using a Etek-rt motor, 5, 12v 100ah batteries, and a KD72301 controller capable of 72v and max current of 300amps (120 cont.). I have made a simplified wiring diagram from the kelly user manual. After wiring and double checking all connections, I attached a 24v power source. (12v, 7ah batteries). Nothing happened. I did not connect the motor, however. Does this make a difference or could it possibly be the power supply? Also should i use the contactor when testing at a lower voltage than its rated?

Kelly Wiring.JPG

Here is a basic diagram i drew up in Autocad. Its hard to see on the pic so i have attached a better pic.

Any help is appreciated, I will post pics of the project later this week.

Thanks
Team Tersus