Rookie Question regarding adding more power/batterie's on a Luyuan E-Bike

10 posts / 0 new
Last post
Joe1982
Rookie Question regarding adding more power/batterie's on a Luyuan E-Bike

Hi,

It took me a while but here is my first post, i hope its in the right section of the site so here we go.

I did check the site and found loads of info already on the subject, but then again,nothing applies to the bike i have.
That and its all a bit too technical, im a beginner in these things so when explaining, be patient with me.
See it as " adding power for dummies" as i am one :) I have asked a few local people here who claim to know but further then sparking batteries and no good advice, i don't seem to get.

I own a Electric Bike, Luyuan i believe it is, similar to Condor / Mountaineer or other types out there, sort of 1 bike fits all.

It has a 48v battery pack in it( 4 x 12v/12ah) and 1 x 250w motor. It motor's fine at 18mph but when I'm near a hill, i might as well get off and walk as its slow, add factors such as wind and rain and i can stay there for the night.

I'm prepared for a couple of options,

A : i purchased 4 new batteries to add , but somehow that didn't bring anything.
As advised by some of the members here ( thank you all for your help so far ) i've connected the new batteries in series, duplicating te existing battery pack.
Then i wired it up to the connection point, be it " red with red and blue with blue, from pack 1 too pack 2 ".. no sparks, no smoke ( woehoeew)but also no added power ( d'0h)
as said, im new at this and im willing to try so im not sure , have i wired it wrong or what happened, as i didn't give me more power to start from a full stop, or to go up a glorified speedramp, nor did it add some speed , but the torque is what im after mostely.