Noise from Disk Brakes

9 posts / 0 new
Last post
Mik
Mik's picture
Noise from Disk Brakes

Is it normal for disk brakes to be noisy?

Both front and rear brakes make a similar noise on my Vectrix, but the front seems much louder (judged from the riding position).

The noise starts as soon as I can feel the slightest deceleration due to gentle pulling of the brake lever and it only gets a little bit louder with stronger brake force applied.

It sounds like a high-frequency electrical buzzing. The frequency reduces with reducing speed and it practically disappears below about 20km/h.

Could this be due to the holes in the disk? Front and rear disks have different hole patterns, that might explain the noise difference.

Any explanation / advice would be much appreciated!

Dauntless
Re: Noise from Disk Brakes

Boy, sight unseen, this is a tougher question than you realize. But then I'm not a real expert, I'm just a former smog mechanic who's gone through life working on my own brakes and my friend's after high school auto shop.

1) Many pads have what was called a "Sensor" long before there were electronics to do the job. It's a little lip at the edge of the pad that drags on the edge of the disc when the pads are wearing out to warn you you're running out of brakes.

2) When your disc gets a glossy smooth finish, it will squeak even when there's plenty of pad on the pads. I take a piece of coarse samdpaper and take that right out. This is one thing that "Turning" rotors is for, in addition to removing damaged/uneven spots. Keep in mind that some motorcycles (Which scooters are) sometimes have this "Etched" surface on the disc rotor that isn't supposed to be turned, so taking samdpaper to it probably isn't within spec either.