Using the E-Max mods on Topmotorx/Kasea Bikes

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
vinnie
Offline
Last seen: 11 years 7 months ago
Joined: Friday, July 27, 2007 - 07:30
Points: 161
Using the E-Max mods on Topmotorx/Kasea Bikes

Alright, so I have poured through everything in the archives and want to begin with a shout-out to Keith, Paul and the others for being so open and helpful with their knowledge. I am looking at a couple of bikes from a dealer who is getting the 'new' line of topmotorx.com products in under the name of 'EMoto' which includes, as far as I can tell, the Kasea ZE-2000, the E-Max sport, and a model similar to the E-Cruiser 220.

We believe we can apply the E-Max mods to these models as well, according to earlier posts.

Has anyone out there actually done any of the mods on the Kasea and can comment?

Also, I am thinking about taking the batteries out right away and replacing them with a 60v setup. If I remove the black box and make the other controller mods, would this work or am I overlooking something?

I was thinking about using 5 EB50-12's from B&B with 3 Powercheq's. Are these too big in size to fit 5 of them? If so, any other suggestions?

Thanks!

Vinnie
Broomfield, CO

jdh2550_1
jdh2550_1's picture
Offline
Last seen: 8 years 1 month ago
Joined: Tuesday, July 17, 2007 - 09:35
Points: 2335
Re: Using the E-Max mods on Topmotorx/Kasea Bikes

Probably just a typo - but you'll need 4 PowerCheq's (you typed 3) if you have 5 batteries. The number of balancers is always one less than the number of batteries.

John H.
Blue XM-2000
Ann Arbor, MI

(man I really should get back to work if they look at my internet stats today I'm done for!)

John H. Founder of Current Motor Company - opinions on this site belong to me; not to my employer
Remember: " 'lectric for local. diesel for distance" - JTH, Amp Bros || "No Gas.

vinnie
Offline
Last seen: 11 years 7 months ago
Joined: Friday, July 27, 2007 - 07:30
Points: 161
Re: Using the E-Max mods on Topmotorx/Kasea Bikes

Yes, yes! Sorry...4 powercheqs!

Vinnie
Broomfield, CO

vinnie
Offline
Last seen: 11 years 7 months ago
Joined: Friday, July 27, 2007 - 07:30
Points: 161
Re: Using the E-Max mods on Topmotorx/Kasea Bikes

Frame_for_battery_placement.jpg

I believe this is the space I would have for the batteries. If I'm doing my geometry correctly, I should be able to fit 5 of the EB 50-12's in there. With the controller mods and removable of the black box, I should be good to go, yes? Am I overlooking anything?

Vinnie
Broomfield, CO

Vinnie
Broomfield, CO

JDELUNA
Offline
Last seen: 7 months 2 weeks ago
Joined: Tuesday, November 21, 2006 - 05:39
Points: 230
Re: Using the E-Max mods on Topmotorx/Kasea Bikes

If you do decide to do this, please take pictures and document everything so that others like me can duplicate it, as I too have a 2006 Emax Sport that I would like to modify to 60 volts.

Also do you have a better picture so I can see the placement of the 5 batteries to see how they are arranged ??

Again thanks for any info. Please let us know how it goes. God Bless :)

vinnie
Offline
Last seen: 11 years 7 months ago
Joined: Friday, July 27, 2007 - 07:30
Points: 161
Need some quick pointers!!!

The battery placement for 5 should look like the smaller picture in the corner. I am not good with the 3D computer drawing stuff so any attempts I made to better illustrate reminded me of some of my kindergarten drawings...

I will definitely record this mod with pictures and writings from a non-electrical engineer perspective. Although I will be relying heavily on the work already posted by Paul (PJD) and Keith (kmullee).

I am getting ready to embark but I have a few basic questions I need help with:

1) If I put in 5 B&B EB 50-12's, can I still use the 48v, 10a charger that comes with my bike? Could I use two of these chargers in tandem.

2) If I decided to tack on two more 12v, 20Ah silicone batteries on the current 2x4x12v, 20Ah setup, is it smart to put the exact same battery in or could I go with a comparable silicone battery from Eric Fisher?

Can anyone help me with these questions? I know they are simple but I still have some gaps in my knowledge here!!!

Vinnie
Broomfield, CO

Vinnie
Broomfield, CO

Log in or register to post comments


Who's online

There are currently 0 users online.

Who's new

  • freedomev
  • dpeilow
  • benthuis
  • Lenis Hvin
  • smith77

Support V is for Voltage