CAPCur error

12 posts / 0 new
Last post
PT-Volt
Offline
Last seen: 5 years 10 months ago
Joined: Thursday, November 20, 2008 - 10:02
Points: 29
CAPCur error

Can anyone help me? I wanted to introduce you to my new V with a diferent subject, but then, this happened... :-(.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5v-ifNSzuhw

PT-Volt
Offline
Last seen: 5 years 10 months ago
Joined: Thursday, November 20, 2008 - 10:02
Points: 29
Re: CAPCur error

http://visforvoltage.org/book/ev-collaborative-hand-books/10171#comment-55787
This is it? :-|. It doesn't seem very serious... I think.

Drew
Drew's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 years 6 months ago
Joined: Thursday, August 21, 2008 - 15:16
Points: 152
Re: CAPCur error

Have a look at my thread and associated replies...

http://visforvoltage.org/forum/10021-can-anyone-help-capcur-and-yellow-spanner-wrench-error

This is not a common fault from what I can gather.

I had the same fault occur on my NiMH Vx-1. The error (from what I understand) stands for 'CAPacitor Current' and is related to one of the four large yellow MuRata ceramic capacitors in the motor controller. Clearly something has gone wrong with one of these and the bike's diagnostics has flagged it as an error as it will have been operating outside of acceptable limits.

As your machine is a new Li+, I'd certainly get this checked out by your dealer. I had to replace the motor controller on mine in order to fix it. Sure, the bike could still be ridden with the error but it was only a matter of time before complete failure.

Having studied the old motor contoller (when I removed it) my assumption is that there are 4x 40A fuses and associated MuRata capacitors; possibly one for each motor phase and one to cover regen? Incidentally, there is a location on the motorcontroller that would accept another 40A fuse and associated capacitor but it is not fitted. I have no idea why, except for the fact that these huge ceramic capacitors were developed specifically for the Vectrix, hence they are probably quite expensive. I presume that the designers (Parker) designed in some redundancy and hence the fifth capacitor was not fitted.

As for your fault, I wouldn't leave it as a 'trivial' fault. Get it looked at or seek further advice.

Best wishes,

Drew

(note - edit to text - I did receive replies - dunno what I was thinking previously!)

BDI Drew

PT-Volt
Offline
Last seen: 5 years 10 months ago
Joined: Thursday, November 20, 2008 - 10:02
Points: 29
Re: CAPCur error

Thanks Drew. I have my V back, after a replacement of the MC. I took it to my dealer and warranty covered it.
It is working fine now.

Thanks Drew.

Best wishes.

Drew
Drew's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 years 6 months ago
Joined: Thursday, August 21, 2008 - 15:16
Points: 152
Re: CAPCur error

Well, now that's what I call good service! Great that it's fixed and well done for chasing it up. It's good to know that Vectrix are still keen to look after their customers.

Very best wishes,

Drew

BDI Drew

Scotter
Scotter's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 years 7 months ago
Joined: Thursday, February 17, 2011 - 17:12
Points: 93
Re: CAPCur error

If anyone needs to get the 40A fuses on the MC Board, please PM. I have a few now, but will have 100 more in about 2 weeks from the original manufacture (GTT).

--Scotter and his scooter
2007 Vectrix VX-1 Maroon
2007 Vectrix VX-1 Silver
2008 Vectrix VX-1 Blue
2008 Vectrix VX-1 Silver
Other EV projects in the works

oley
Offline
Last seen: 2 years 1 month ago
Joined: Wednesday, December 2, 2009 - 02:28
Points: 37
Re: CAPCur error

Hi,

Same situation for me, last year I've got a CapCur error and my MC controller was replaced.
But last week, only 6 months after the replacement, the error came again !

Is it possible that the MC capacitors can be damaged when doing the controller replacement ?

Best regards,
Oley

Scotter
Scotter's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 years 7 months ago
Joined: Thursday, February 17, 2011 - 17:12
Points: 93
Re: CAPCur error

I finally got more 40A fuses. PM me if interested. As for the caps, odds are they are OK. Fuses probably blew up. I heard all kinds of reasons for this. Lot's of re-gen with bad batteries onboard is one. Heat. Another is that if someone doesn't use an ICL device when connecting the batteries to the controller will cause the fuses to eventually blow, or the caps become damaged.
Scotter

--Scotter and his scooter
2007 Vectrix VX-1 Maroon
2007 Vectrix VX-1 Silver
2008 Vectrix VX-1 Blue
2008 Vectrix VX-1 Silver
Other EV projects in the works

Scotter
Scotter's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 years 7 months ago
Joined: Thursday, February 17, 2011 - 17:12
Points: 93
Re: CAPCur error

I finally sold my last batch of 130 fuses over the course of a year. So I just ordered a custom build of 100 more. If you get a CAPCur error, or your motor controller generally fails, you may need these fuses. So PM me if you need them, I should have them in two weeks or so (late march 2014).

Although someone in Portugal just bought my last 20… so in the meantime you might ask around Portugal! :-)

--Scotter and his scooter
2007 Vectrix VX-1 Maroon
2007 Vectrix VX-1 Silver
2008 Vectrix VX-1 Blue
2008 Vectrix VX-1 Silver
Other EV projects in the works

R
R's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 weeks 1 day ago
Joined: Thursday, June 18, 2009 - 09:46
Points: 1758
Re: CAPCur error

Although someone in Portugal just bought my last 20… so in the meantime you might ask around Portugal! :-)

Somebody in Portugal has been quite busy buying as many Vectrix replacement parts as possible...
Nice to know somebody will be able to repair my vectrix for the next 20 years! ;-)
martinwinlow
Offline
Last seen: 1 month 3 days ago
Joined: Monday, March 26, 2012 - 05:48
Points: 244
Re: CAPCur error

"Nice to know somebody will be able to repair my vectrix for the next 20 years!" Yeah! At a price! MW

Regards, Martin Winlow
Herts UK
evalbum.com/2092

rbritt
Offline
Last seen: 5 months 3 weeks ago
Joined: Tuesday, December 26, 2017 - 12:04
Points: 11
Re: CAPCur error

I got also the same error on my Vectrix VX-1 since some days.
A first look on the MCB shows blown fuses an on exploded muRata ceramic capacitor. Fuse replacement parts are available, but where do I find the muRata capacitor? Does anyone have some laying around? ;-) Or does anyone have a dead MCB laying around? I would be interested! Please send me a PM if you have something to sell.... Thanks!

MCB with defects

Log in or register to post comments


Who's online

There are currently 0 users online.

Who's new

  • Phases Business...
  • FascinationsFun...
  • LADetox
  • Simplus Salesfo...
  • Berrydogbikini

Customize This