Diagnostic Software

20 posts / 0 new
Last post
Wolfgang
Offline
Last seen: 9 years 6 months ago
Joined: Sunday, January 27, 2008 - 11:29
Points: 71
Diagnostic Software

Am looking for the diagnostic software tool as I need to properly re-seat the encoder disk, then re-calibrate the encoder. Would anybody be willing to share this software with me? Please e-mail to

wolfgang (dot) grassberger (at) aon (dot) at

Many thanks
Wolfgang

Mik
Mik's picture
Offline
Last seen: 5 years 1 month ago
Joined: Tuesday, December 11, 2007 - 15:27
Points: 3739
Re: Diagnostic Software

Have you un-seated the encoder?

This information may be used entirely at your own risk.

There is always a way if there is no other way!

Wolfgang
Offline
Last seen: 9 years 6 months ago
Joined: Sunday, January 27, 2008 - 11:29
Points: 71
Re: Diagnostic Software

Hi Mik,

had the encoder replaced, but the technician at the shop didn't use any alignment tools. I still have Encodr faults approx once every 25 km, with varying frequency. So Steve Scott suggested the slotted disc might not be positioned correctly in the axial direction, ie not having the proper gaps vis-a-vis mirror and sensor array. Instead of hauling my bike twice more for 300 km in one direction to the same dealer, I'd rather like to take it up myself and get this possible cause corrected. In my view it's a very straightforward task, with the right tools.

By the way it would be a tremendous enhancement for a future firmware version to activate the encoder calibration routine without laptop, by some clever keystroke/brake grip sequence.

Meanwhile I hope to somehow acquire a copy of the diagnostic software tool for the PC.

Will post about progress with this tedious issue,

Rgds from Austria
Wolfgang

X Vectrix
Offline
Last seen: 2 months 2 weeks ago
Joined: Tuesday, August 4, 2009 - 05:20
Points: 298
Re: Diagnostic Software

Wolfgang
There is a magic sequence, but it wont help if the encoder is not positioned correctly to start with. This routine (magic sequence or w/ diags) simply measures the encoder offset once the encoder is positioned. If you are driving it around and performance is normal, then the encoder offset is correct. Encoder faults could mean one of many things. If not obvious, like dusty encoder or loose wires on the encoder connector, the problem can be difficult to diagnose.

Wolfgang
Offline
Last seen: 9 years 6 months ago
Joined: Sunday, January 27, 2008 - 11:29
Points: 71
Re: Diagnostic Software

Hi X Vectrix,

do I understand you correctly that there is a way to invoke the encoder calibration routine without connecting a PC? This would be very convenient as I wouldn't have to purchase any CanBUS/USB adaptor, and chase after the diagnostic software.

Here's want I want to do: Following a series of Encodr faults despite multiple thorough cleaning, I had a new encoder installed at a dealership. However I still get occasisional Encodr faults. According to Steve Scott's advice, the slotted disc might not be properly positioned on the split motor shaft, relative to the mirror-sensor bracket, ie in the a x i a l direction. The r o t a t i o n a l offset of the disc relative to the permanent poles of the motor's rotor has certainly been correctly set on the motor controller, as you pointed out (or else I wouldn't be able to drive at all). What was missing during the installation of the new encoder, are the proper tools for achieving the right gap between disc and mirror, or sensor array, respectively. I imagine that the disc should be positioned exactly in the focal plane of the optics.

From my experience troubleshooting servo drives on machine tools I know there might indeed be other causes. But before I invest more time and money, to remove the rear battery, exchange the motor controller board, the cable to the encoder, or even the whole rear swing arm with motor, I think I should first exclude the more simple points, such as a bad encoder disc seat.

I therefore plan to get those spacers/alignment tool(s) necessary, then loosen the encoder disc and shift it to its correct position on the split shaft. Inevitably I will lose the rotational position in the process. So if you know a way to run the encoder calibration without PC attached, please let me know. This would spare me a lot of trouble.

By the way do you know the type/make/part number of the plastic connector with the crimped contacts, to the encoder board? I might as well replace it just to make sure there is no bad contact on any of the wires.

Regards
Wolfgang

X Vectrix
Offline
Last seen: 2 months 2 weeks ago
Joined: Tuesday, August 4, 2009 - 05:20
Points: 298
Re: Diagnostic Software

If the encoder faults are that intermittent I would guess that one of the crimps in the connector is bad or the pin is not seating correctly when the connector is pushed on. It may be pushing out the back of the connector slightly. Sometimes the little wing on the pin (socket actually) that holds it in the connector is damaged during crimping. The result is that that signal is no longer operating in differential mode and is more likely to see interference from the phase currents that run parallel with it. One thing you can try is to make sure all the sockets are positioned in the connector correctly, then fill the back side of the connector with epoxy or silicon to secure the wires.
If you dont see encoder filings/dust then the spacing of the disk is probably OK. If the disk scrapes either reflector the encoder will not work for very long.
Mik, do you still have the disk height measurement I sent you a while back?

Mik
Mik's picture
Offline
Last seen: 5 years 1 month ago
Joined: Tuesday, December 11, 2007 - 15:27
Points: 3739
Re: Diagnostic Software

...
...
Mik, do you still have the disk height measurement I sent you a while back?

I definitively have the spacer that I made according to the specs you gave; and I'm sure that the original post is somewhere in the handbook, will have to have a look.

There you go: http://visforvoltage.org/forum/6461-encodr-and-yellow-wrench-error-message#comment-43212

http://visforvoltage.org/forum/6461-encodr-and-yellow-wrench-error-message#comment-41640

I also made a tool to realign the encoder mirror if ever I need it. But that is untested, I have never taken it off.

The shim for the disk works very well, though!

This information may be used entirely at your own risk.

There is always a way if there is no other way!

Wolfgang
Offline
Last seen: 9 years 6 months ago
Joined: Sunday, January 27, 2008 - 11:29
Points: 71
Re: Diagnostic Software

Thanks X Vectrix and Mik,

from your post of post of Mon, 08/17/2009 - 05:23 I gather that I need a shim 0.134" = 3.4 mm thick. I'm traveling this week but when I return on Friday I'll try to carefully check this distance by means of a caliper.

Mik, could you provide a drawing of the tool necessary for positioning the encoder PCB? I can imagine that it must be set at a certain radial distance from the motor shaft, to align its optical sensor array with the tracks on the slotted disc.

Rgds
Wolfgang

Mik
Mik's picture
Offline
Last seen: 5 years 1 month ago
Joined: Tuesday, December 11, 2007 - 15:27
Points: 3739
Re: Diagnostic Software

Thanks X Vectrix and Mik,

from your post of post of Mon, 08/17/2009 - 05:23 I gather that I need a shim 0.134" = 3.4 mm thick. I'm traveling this week but when I return on Friday I'll try to carefully check this distance by means of a caliper.

Mik, could you provide a drawing of the tool necessary for positioning the encoder PCB? I can imagine that it must be set at a certain radial distance from the motor shaft, to align its optical sensor array with the tracks on the slotted disc.

Rgds
Wolfgang

Here are some photos with metric measurements (Click to enlarge and move screen to read gauge display):

//i281.photobucket.com/albums/kk217/Mr_Mik/Vectux/Encoder/th_DSC07825.jpg) //i281.photobucket.com/albums/kk217/Mr_Mik/Vectux/Encoder/th_DSC07828.jpg) //i281.photobucket.com/albums/kk217/Mr_Mik/Vectux/Encoder/th_DSC07830.jpg) //i281.photobucket.com/albums/kk217/Mr_Mik/Vectux/Encoder/th_DSC07835.jpg) //i281.photobucket.com/albums/kk217/Mr_Mik/Vectux/Encoder/th_DSC07834.jpg) //i281.photobucket.com/albums/kk217/Mr_Mik/Vectux/Encoder/th_DSC07832.jpg)

As mentioned earlier, I have not tried to align the encoder with the tool shown. But the tool fits nicely on the still connected encoder and I believe it would work if I needed it.

The U-shaped spacer for the encoder disk is tested and works very well.

I have added a page about it to the Handbook: http://visforvoltage.org/book/ev-collaborative-hand-books/9516

This information may be used entirely at your own risk.

There is always a way if there is no other way!

Wolfgang
Offline
Last seen: 9 years 6 months ago
Joined: Sunday, January 27, 2008 - 11:29
Points: 71
Re: Diagnostic Software

Today I carefully measured the distance between the slotted disk and the bottom of the motor&gear casing, using one of my old-fashioned "analogue" calipers. I arrived at a distance of 3.2 mm from the top of the slotted disk to the bottom. Assuming a thickness of 0.1 mm (which I couldn't measure), this would mean 3.1 mm of spacing. This is 0.304 mm too little, according to your shim of 0.134".

Even though this doesn't seem much off, I would like to shift the disc by 0.3 mm towards the end of the motor shaft. It might just be feasible to mark the disk, block the rear wheel, then loosen the split shaft and shift the disc while conserving its readout. However, without diagnostic software it would be quite a gamble (how would I manage to drag a dead bike onto a trailer?). There could be some clearance in the planetary gear, and I might rotate the motor a bit even when the rear brake is tight.

So, anyone out there ready to share the diagnostic software with me? Please give me a message on this board or e-mail (see above). I'd greatly appreciate your help.

By the way, I pulled not so gently on each of the wires in search of loose contacts but found none.

Mik
Mik's picture
Offline
Last seen: 5 years 1 month ago
Joined: Tuesday, December 11, 2007 - 15:27
Points: 3739
Re: Diagnostic Software

Wolfgang
There is a magic sequence, but it wont help if the encoder is not positioned correctly to start with. ...
...

Could you share the magic sequence, please?

This information may be used entirely at your own risk.

There is always a way if there is no other way!

Wolfgang
Offline
Last seen: 9 years 6 months ago
Joined: Sunday, January 27, 2008 - 11:29
Points: 71
Re: Diagnostic Software

I have a faint memory that a "magic sequence" to initiate the encoder auto-setting routine on the scooter had once been described in an early post in this forum some years ago, but I couldn't locate it and it might just be wishful thinking.

Anyways, thanks to a helpful fellow Vectrix fan, I now have access to the diagnostic software 2.1. Next, I'll mail order the PEARL canbus/usb adapter, and also I'll fabricate or try to obtain both tools (radial alignment and axial shim) necessary.

As the dealer's technician didn't employ any of those while replacing my encoder board and disc, I have high hope that I'll be able to adjusting things by myself and get rid of my Encodr faults.

Rgds
Wolfgang

eyeinthesky
eyeinthesky's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 4 months ago
Joined: Saturday, January 5, 2008 - 03:06
Points: 128
Re: Diagnostic Software

Raise the rear wheel off the ground first.
In the Summary section click on "show instruments"
Click on "control mode"
then click on "ENCODER mode"

rear wheel will turn a little,

the encoder will automaticly calibrate

Wolfgang
Offline
Last seen: 9 years 6 months ago
Joined: Sunday, January 27, 2008 - 11:29
Points: 71
Re: Diagnostic Software

Yeah of course that's what I'm able to do, since today (24 h after ordering) I received the PEAK canbus adapter PCAN-USB IPEH-002021 and cable PCAN-Kabel 1 IPEK-003000 directly from http://www.peak-system.com/Home.59.0.html for € 262,99 incl sales tax and shipping.

It would however be much more interesting to invoke the encoder setting procedure without diagnostic software, just by pressing certain switches/levers on the bike (aka "magic sequence"). Anyway I suggest to add this feature to a future firmware version.

As soon as I have made or obtained some tools I'll try to improve my encoder situation.

Rgds
Wolfgang

X Vectrix
Offline
Last seen: 2 months 2 weeks ago
Joined: Tuesday, August 4, 2009 - 05:20
Points: 298
Re: Diagnostic Software

Wolfgang
Read your email...
XV

Wolfgang
Offline
Last seen: 9 years 6 months ago
Joined: Sunday, January 27, 2008 - 11:29
Points: 71
Re: Diagnostic Software

Tonight I serviced my encoder. So far I have a good feeling, but it's yet untested on the road. I'll report in more detail tomorrow.
Wolfgang

pyjohnson
Offline
Last seen: 3 weeks 5 days ago
Joined: Thursday, March 20, 2008 - 13:53
Points: 74
Re: Diagnostic Software

In reading this post I believe there are a few people out there with the Diagnostic Software Rev2.1

Could anyone be so kind as to send me a copy too

I thought the copy I had was 2.1 but it's not

I bought my self a CAN-Bus Adapter that's about half the price of the PEAK one, I'll pass on the details when I get it up and running

UPDATE:- Thanks to the person who sent me it

Regards,
Peter

-----------------------------------------------------------
Central Scotland

ElectricLou
ElectricLou's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 week 6 days ago
Joined: Wednesday, January 9, 2008 - 16:11
Points: 59
Re: Diagnostic Software

Hello All,

I hate to beg on this forum..... But, can someone be so kind as to as to provide me the latest version software. I would be forever in your debt.

Thanks,
Louie

rewski
Offline
Last seen: 7 years 1 month ago
Joined: Thursday, March 26, 2009 - 15:09
Points: 165
Re: Diagnostic Software

I'll add to the begging too. Could someone email it to me? Thanks.

rewski at me dot com

Adam - Denver, CO
2007 Vectrix VX-1 charged with the power of the sun = zero carbon footprint

pyjohnson
Offline
Last seen: 3 weeks 5 days ago
Joined: Thursday, March 20, 2008 - 13:53
Points: 74
Re: Diagnostic Software

I bought my self a CAN-Bus Adapter that's about half the price of the PEAK one, I'll pass on the details when I get it up and running

UPDATE: I doesn't work, the Diagnostic Software is coded to PEAK's protocol's and the adapter I bought doesn't talk "PEAK" :-(

So I'm sending it back for a refund and starting to save a few more pennies to get the PEAK one

Regards,
Peter

-----------------------------------------------------------
Central Scotland

Log in or register to post comments


Who's online

There are currently 0 users online.

Who's new

  • freedomev
  • dpeilow
  • benthuis
  • Lenis Hvin
  • smith77

Support V is for Voltage